Calton Hill, Edinburgh. (Shot on a Samsung Galaxy Note 4)

Isn’t it amazing how fast technology moves forward? Who’d have thought that one day a small module in the back of a phone would be able to match (and in some cases surpass) the quality of point and shoot cameras? We can now capture precious moments with a basic tool we carry around every day! With sophisticated applications we can emulate the functionality of a dedicated camera with manual controls and then edit photos using powerful editing apps. I love my dedicated camera, and my smartphone will never be able to match or replace it. (E.g interchangeable lenses, larger sensor to gather more light, direct controls….) However this does not mean I don’t appreciate the convenience and portability of a high quality small sensor that I can carry in my pocket. Why shouldn’t we? When we purchase a smartphone, part of what makes up the price is the camera that is situated at the back (and another at the front which I admit I don’t use at all 😂). We might as well make use of it. Have you heard of the Mobile photo awards? Many are exclusively using phones for their photography and producing stunning results. Smartphone photography is definitely a genre that seems to be here to stay. Here are some of my favourite photos that I’ve been able to capture while using smartphones.

Edinburgh castle. (Shot on a Samsung Galaxy Note 4)
Freezing fast moving objects? No problem for some phones. 👍
Calton Hill, Edinburgh. My dedicated camera would have captured much more detail here. But my phone sensor did a good job of getting detail considering its small size.
A monument on Calton Hill, Edinburgh. Even with a huge contrast between sunlight and shadows, colours and detail are well balanced.
Captured this outside of the Symphony Hall in Birmingham, UK. (Shot on a Huawei Nexus 6P) Low light performance in modern phones is decent.
Brindley place, Birmingham, UK. Another low light shot. You can even see some detail in the walkway despite the dark conditions that the small sensor has to contend with.
Edited this photo using VSCOcam and Snapseed. Two powerful editing apps available on both  Android and IOS.Plenty of detail can be seen in these sunflowers.
Edinburgh again. (Not Calton Hill though 😉) Because of the good light. You can see fine details in the brickwork.
Scotland again. (apologies, I love this place 😉) I was able to capture this from a moving tour bus. I like the vivid colour processing here. 
Coventry Motor Museum. I was very impressed with how this photo came out considering the indoor lighting. I would not have guessed that this was taken on a phone if I hadn’t taken it myself.
Powis Castle, Wales. (Shot on Samsung Galaxy Note 4)

Often times it’s not the device you use, but how you use it that makes a good picture. Practice with whatever camera you have and your photography will improve, DSLR or Smartphone. Smartphones are definitely enhancing the way we can capture, process and appreciate our images. Photography no longer has to be expensive gear and expensive editing software.

